Sporting heroes, business leaders and innovators to be honoured at 2019 Alumni Awards

16 May 2019
Alumni Awards

The Division of Philanthropy is gearing up to celebrate 13 outstanding UNSW graduates at the 47th UNSW Alumni Awards.

The awards, scheduled for 28 May, are a highlight in UNSW’s calendar, celebrating the incredible achievements of alumni who are using their education to help transform communities and improve the lives of others.  

Following a record-breaking 110 nominations from the UNSW community this year, the selection committee had to make some difficult decisions to shortlist 13 winners across 11 categories. In addition to the 2019 winners, we will welcome Lucy Turnbull AO to the event to collect her 2018 Alumni Award in the ‘Design & Architecture’ category, which she was unable to accept in person last year.

For the first time, winning alumni will be announced a week before the event, with the full list of winners to be announced publicly on Monday, 20 May. This impressive group includes pioneering medical and engineering minds, human rights advocates, stars of sport and film, leaders of urban innovation, as well as champions of diversity in business, art and STEM.

UNSW President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Jacobs said, “with an expanding alumni network, now exceeding 300,000 people from 137 different countries, it was not surprising that there were so many outstanding nominations this year.”

“The 2019 Alumni Award recipients represent the best of UNSW, embodying the values which we strive to instil in all of our graduates – creativity, ingenuity and a commitment to a just society.

“As Australia’s global university, we are proud to honour our diverse alumni, so many of whom have gone on to become leaders in their fields. It is always a thrill to learn how they are making a positive impact on the world and to celebrate that success.”

Running since 1972, the Alumni Awards represent an important tradition for UNSW, with previous winners including Turia Pitt, Del Kathryn Barton, Shemara Wikramanayake, Mike Cannon-Brookes, and Scott Farquhar.

The awards follow a call for nominations from UNSW students, staff and the broader community, asking for them to put forward a star UNSW graduate for consideration across one of the 11 awards categories to represent the university’s working areas and values. This year the event will be held at the Kensington campus, and jointly hosted by the Chancellor, Mr David Gonski and Professor Jacobs.

“The Alumni Awards honour the incredible achievements of our growing alumni community and recognise the remarkable individuals who are utilising their education for new achievements every day, said Mr Gonski.

“It gives us great pleasure to see our graduates going from strength to strength in their personal and professional endeavours, and I am enormously proud of the difference our alumni have made and are making to the lives of people here in Australia and around the world.”