UNSW Indigenous Students Awards recognise excellence and spirit

08 Aug 2023
Indigenous Awards

Nura Gili had the honour of hosting the UNSW Indigenous Students Awards night, celebrating with students, staff and the local community.

These Indigenous Students Awards recognise academic excellence and spirit in each of UNSW's faculties and campuses. It was wonderful to celebrate with the community again after postponing due to COVID-19.

Student with the highest cumulative weighted average mark at the end of the academic year in each faculty received awards. The Spirit award recognises qualitative characteristics such as persistence, resilience, academic growth and attitude, and were determined following a school nomination process and faculty panel.

Spirit Award recipient Tiah Payne from Arts, Design & Architecture said she was honoured and proud to receive the award.

“Being presented with the award was an acknowledgment of all my hard work, dedication and commitment to my studies and uni. It was a way of saying ‘We see you’,” she said.

“The Indigenous Award night was an amazing night for not only the award winners being recognised but for all of us being recognised for our achievements and hard work. It was also an opportunity for us to say thank you to all the wonderful Nura Gili and UNSW staff who support us. I encourage everyone to attend these evenings, as it's a great night for us to come together.”

Highlights of the evening included a cultural dance by the Gamay dancers, a Welcome to Country by Aunty Maxine Ryan and an inspiring speech by UNSW alumna Dr Khyarne Biles. 

Nura Gili would like to thank all community who attended and the UNSW faculty senior leadership team for their enthusiasm to present the awards, recognising the wonderful achievements of our Indigenous students. 

Congratulations to the following award recipients. 


Arts, Design and Architecture

Undergraduate academic award: Lua Pellegrini 

Postgraduate academic award: Dayle Sumner

Spirit Award: Tiah Payne


Business School

Undergraduate academic award: Brodie Booth 

Postgraduate academic award: Danielle Captain-Webb 

Spirit Award: Yanti Ropeyarn



Undergraduate academic award: Caitlin Ramsay 

Postgraduate academic award: Trent Ayscough 

Spirit Award: John Licitra 


Law & Justice

Undergraduate academic award: Corey Blyth 

Postgraduate academic award: Karla Jeffrey 

Spirit Award: Oliver Williams 


Medicine & Health

Undergraduate academic award: Keaton Hudson-Buhagiar 

Postgraduate academic award: Jackie Thomas

Spirit Award: Trayden Miller-Mundine / Benjamin Jones 



Undergraduate academic award: Sally O’Bryan 

Postgraduate academic award: Bradley Jay 

Spirit Award: Bryce Liddell 


UNSW Canberra

Undergraduate academic award: Breydon Lee Verryt-Reid

Spirit Award: Katherine Russell