Meet the staff who light up UNSW, recognised at 2024 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards

20 Jun 2024
The 2024 Vice-Chancellor's Award winners

The Roundhouse was filled with more than 350 staff members celebrating the annual Vice-Chancellor’s Awards event. 

Held on Wednesday, 19 June, the event showcased all 464 nominees representing all faculties and divisions at the University. 

Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Attila Brungs and members of the University Leadership Team acknowledged all the nominees and the inspirational winners in this year’s awards . 

2024 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards winners 

  • Innovation: Dr Alex Bannigan, Head of Academic Development & Engagement, Division of Education & Student Experience
  • Collaboration: Associate Professor Michael Johnson, Research Manager, UNSW Medicine & Health
  • Diversity:  Dr Rose Amazan, Senior Lecturer, UNSW Arts, Design & Architecture
  • Respect: First Year Directors Team including Dr Kate Jackson, Senior Lecturer, and Dr Thomas Dixon, Associate Lecturer, UNSW Science
  • Excellence: Brandon Harrison, Administrative Support Coordinator, UNSW Canberra
  • People’s Choice: Roy Zeng, Senior Technical Officer, UNSW Engineering.

“The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards is a lovely way to remind us of how what we do every day matters and is seen. Celebrating all these amazing individuals doing amazing things, and those who took the time to nominate them, is a great event,” said Michelle Steel, Interim Chief People Officer.  

“Thank you to all involved in this celebration, those in the wings who facilitated the process, and everyone who took the time to nominate their colleagues and recognise not just their achievements but how they go about it. Congratulations again to all our awardees.”

View the nominations for the winners and the event photo gallery on the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards site.